Category Archives: Uncategorized

Sonic Complexion exposition published

The final dissemination of the large scale artistic research project Sonic Complexion is now published at Research Catalogue through the RMC portal.

The project presentation can be accessed through this Link to the Final Research Catalogue Exposition of Sonic Complexion.

The project has resulted in a number of albums (most central were, in chronological order: Dear Earthling, Anterior Current, Spirit of the Hive), as well as texts, card decks, multiple mapping systems, models & strategies, and so forth.

The exposition was peer reviewed by three peer reviewers (one internal, two international), winter 2021-22, based on the RMC’s artistic research quality criteria “SITRE”.

More info on other research activities at the Research site.

Album out now

Release June 18th, 2021:  

Jacob Anderskov: SPIRIT OF THE HIVE. Anders Banke, Francesco Bigoni, Calum Builder, Maria Dybbroe, Carolyn Goodwin, Matthias Sigurdsson: clarinets & flutes. Nils Davidsen: cello. Tomo Jacobson, Asger Thomsen: basses. Halym Kim: drums. Jacob Anderskov: composer & conductor.

Recorded at The Village, November 2020. ILK, vinyl + digital. Release supported by KODA Kultur & Kapelmesterforeningen. JA_SOTH_Press_UKJA_SOTH_Press_DK.

Listening to Spirit of the Hive is to perceive the world from the perspective of bats, bees, birds and bugs. How does it feel to be inside the swarm? How does the hive perceive the threats from the outside world – especially those coming from humans? Meanwhile, the album meditates on how the larger patterns emerging from animal behaviour are a constant source of awe and wonder to us. But first of all, the album deals with the close interdependence between these animals and our way of life.

Nominated “album of the year”

Danish Music Awards: Impressions of Bowie has been nominated in the category “album of the year“.

Award show will be broadcast by P8jazz (radio) & TV2 Lorry, (TV), on the eve of the show, November 12th. JazzDanmark, Bremen Teater,


Broadcast appearances in a near future

November 12th: DMA – nominated for Impressions of Bowie in the category “album of the year”. JazzDanmark, Bremen Teater. Award show will be broadcast by P8jazz (radio) & TV2 Lorry, (TV), on the eve of the show, November 12th. 

November 18th: DR broadcast of live recording from Copenhagen Opera Festival, J.A. (piano) duo with Monica Melcova (church organ) from Koncertsalen, DKDM, which took place November 5th.


Radio broadcast from Danish National Radio Concert Hall

If you missed the midsummer eve live radio broadcast yesterday from the Danish National Radio Concert Hall, the entire concert can be revisited here.

Full concert link (from Radio Website)

Original preview: “- direkte fra DR Koncerthuset. Vær med i ét langt koncertforløb, hvor fællessange fra den danske sangskat, instrumentale passager og korsatser fletter en stemningsfuld midsommerkrans.Jacob Anderskov, klaver.Kasper Tranberg, trompet.Jakob Høyer, percussion & trommer.DR Vokalensemblet.Dirigent: Poul Emborg.Vært: Charlotte Nørby.”

Two new albums out now

Jacob Anderskov: ANTERIOR CURRENT. Solo, studio recording. About ANTERIOR CURRENT: Jacob Anderskov takes on European 20th century modernism. In the optimal studio setting of The Village, he recorded note-by-note versions of modernist pieces and free improvisations around them. However, the sonic approach is far from a regular composed new music piano album: The microphones, preamps and converters were chosen for their warmth, not any idealized “neutrality”. _ Press release: JA_Anterior Current_Press_UK – EPK for ANTERIOR CURRENT

Jacob Anderskov: IMPRESSIONS OF BOWIE: Solo, live recording.  About IMPRESSIONS OF BOWIE: Pianist Jacob Anderskov, having released numerous acclaimed albums with his own compositions, turns to the music of David Bowie. Recorded live in concert, the album captures Anderskov solo on Fazioli Grand Piano and prepared piano. It is a solo piano take on very well known songs, the approach being one of radical remakes, not loyal renderings. Press release: JA_Impressions_Of_Bowie_Press_UK – EPK for IMPRESSIONS OF BOWIE